♥ G i n a S a c h i C o d y ♥

It’s been a week since Gina Sachi Cody has left us and though I wish I could say that “I’m okay,” I’m not. The truth is, my heart is broken. I remember the first time I met Gina. I was being photographed for Good Night Mr. Lewis, a nightlife column written by Steve Lewis in Blackbook Magazine, and she was the photographer. We were in the basement of the post-Plumm, pre-Darby space and Steve introduced us. She told me where to stand, and began to click away as I did this & that… I remember feeling very at east in front of her camera. There was something about her… Perhaps it was her beautiful, big, brown eyes… I knew right away that I could trust her.

How It All Began / October 2009 / Photo by Gina Sachi Cody.

After the shoot, we exchanged numbers and a new friendship began. We started to bump into each other everywhere, as most of us creatures of the night tend to do… I was always happy to bump into Gina. She had one of the best smiles I’ve ever seen & lots of good energy that I could always feel when I was around her.

Our Bright, Beautiful Girl...

A few months after we met, my birthday rolled around. “I made you something,” she said so proudly into the phone, “When can I give it to you?!” We met up in the East Village and I unwrapped a flat, rectangular shaped object… What could it be? Of course… It was  the picture she had taken of me for Blackbook, except she had done something really interesting to it. Certainly Gina could explain the technique much better, but I think she had it printed on some sort of special photo paper, and then she peeled away the top layer of the photo, which made the photo look sort of distressed, “vintage-ish.” She had it framed, and I immediately hung it up in my apartment by the staircase which leads up to my lofted bedroom.

The last time I saw her was on Thursday, October 28th, just a few days before she passed. We were at Mick Rock‘s opening at the Morrison Hotel on the Bowery. It was completely packed. I was just wandering around, taking in the people and looking at Mick’s photos when I heard my name being called. I turned around… It was Gina… She looked so beautiful, so full of life… She grabbed my wrist and held my forearm tightly as she spoke to me a mile a minute about the magazine she was starting. She was so excited, she was so proud, her eyes were so wide, like a child… She was telling me something about going to Japan and how much she loved The Frogge… that when her magazine was started, she wanted me to be a part of it… that she wanted me to write for Prescribed Mag. I said that of course I would and that we should talk about it  more specifically when she had more details. We walked next door to John Varvatos to see Jamie Burke’s new band, Delilah & Adam Green. Gina & I stood right up front… We danced wildly, hand in hand, and she took lots of pictures with not one, but two cameras…

That is how I will always remember her. Beautiful, glowing, excited, full of life with endless possibilities… I only wish I knew it was the last time that I was going to see her… She took a Polaroid of my friends & I that night… She made me promise to upload it… “Don’t forget to upload that! Promise you won’t forget?” she said. “I won’t, I promise, I won’t.” And here it is… The last picture of me taken by Gina.

 

Morrison Hotel / October 28th, 2010 / Photo by Gina Sachi Cody.

The best thing about that Polaroid is that is has her handwriting on the bottom. “Get Prescribed,” it says, to promote the magazine she was so excited to start. It’s sort of ironic to that our friendship started and ended with a photograph. Isn’t is sort of strange that I know the exact first and exact last picture she ever took of me?

I don’t think I can write anymore, as my heart is literally aching… But there is one more thing that I want to say. We are organizing a memorial for Gina. Larry Santos, Dave Delzio, Nia & Steve are also involved. We don’t have the exact date picked out yet, but we are working on it. It will be held at Santos Party House. We are doing this because we know there were a lot of “city people” who wanted to attend Gina’s wake but couldn’t get out to Jersey for this reason or that… If you are reading this and want to be involved in anyway, please don’t be a stranger. Feel free to email me directly anytime at TheFrogge@gmail.com. When I know the exact details, I will do my best to spread the word, and I really, really hope that you all attend.

Until then…

Love your aching friend,

The Frogge ❤

23 Responses to “♥ G i n a S a c h i C o d y ♥”

  1. That was so beautiful. I attended Gina’s wake, and it was so hard for me. Can I share what you wrote on my Facebook wall? It was so beautiful…

    • Hi Kristoffer,
      Thank you for your kind words. I was at Gina’s wake too… Perhaps we crossed paths. Of course you can share this article… Please do.
      All the best,
      The Frogge ❤

  2. Mecha Dantz Says:

    Good riddance to the bitch!!!!

    • Mecha Dantz,
      What exactly is that supposed to mean? If it means what I think it means, you are a sick person. I almost did not approve your comment… But then I decided to approve it, just so everyone else can see what an idiot you are. If you are going to say disgusting things on my blog, at least own up to it and use your real name.
      – The Frogge

    • really? that is so inappropriate, its just a shame it wasnt you instead of gina… The Frogge, can you please take Mechas post down? its really degrading to ginas memory. Thanks

      • Hi Jake,

        In regards to taking the comment down, please read the response that I wrote to Kristoffer, which is a few comments below… On a side note, even though Mecha Dantz’s comment was completely vile… You should never wish death upon another person… I don’t know you at all, but I have a feeling that you are better than that. If Mecha Dantz wants to be hateful and distasteful… That is his business… Let him sink down and be low… Instead let’s rise above him and take Gina’s memory with us…

        Wishing you the very best,
        The Frogge.

    • You’re a piece of shit. It’s so sad how someone can be so pathetic. I don’t know you but this comment shows what type of person you are. You’re worthless.

      • V…

        I wrote this piece in memory of Gina, and it seems that all of these comments are no longer about her… but about some stupid comment by an anonymous author… I understand why you are upset about that comment, as am I… but we don’t even know who wrote it… And even if we did know who wrote it… It still wouldn’t matter. Instead of wasting your precious time being angry at some coward, I suggest you write something about Gina instead… I would love to hear from you…

        ❤ your friend,
        The Frogge

    • This is the first negative comment I have seen written about Gina on the internet since her death, and there have been a LOT of comments written about her. Congratulations, you’re a douche.

      • Ari,

        As I said above to Jake & V… This piece is about Gina… Trust me, it doesn’t matter what some idiot commented about her. People are always going to say what they want to say… Which is why it is our job not to pay them any attention… I have no doubt in my mind, that he couldn’t hold a candle to her… Instead of wasting your time getting upset and commenting in regards to some anonymous comment… I suggest you use your precious time, energy, and voice into writing something about Gina… After all… That is what this piece is about. I’d love to hear from you…

        – The Frogge.

  3. Please take that comment down. It’s not pleasant to read such a cowardly comment after reading something so beautiful and inspiring.

    • Oyy Kristoffer,
      Where do I begin? Well, to start… I have thought about this long and hard… To take the comment down, or not to take the comment down? In the end, I have decided not to take the comment down. Just because I have the ability to control all the comments on this blog… If I show only the “nice” ones, or the ones that “I liked” this blog wouldn’t be real… It would just be some fake crap controlled by me. In the end, I believe in freedom of speech, and I want people to have that on The Frogge. Do I think that comment was appropriate? Absolutely not. Do I agree with it? No, no, no… a hundred times no. Do I think that the person who left that comment, “Mecha Dantz” is a despicable human being… Yes, yes, yes… a thousand times yes. Nothing could be more abhorrent in my eyes than to speak ill of a person who can no longer defend themselves… Which is why I am glad that you are defending Gina. In the end, the people that really knew Gina, all know who Gina was… We all love & miss her… It doesn’t matter what that idiot commented… I think we should all stop talking about his comment… It’s not worth our time… Instead, we should just focus on Gina’s beautiful memory which could never be tainted by some coward who couldn’t even reveal his true identity. I say god riddance to him.

      Kristoffer… You’re a true pal 🙂

      <3, The Frogge.

      • I keep this page on my toolbar. I find myself reading it again and again. I don’t mean that as flattery; it’s just compelling that, across the board, everyone felt the same way the first time they met Gina, just as you described it.

        I understand and respect how you feel about the comment, and I’m glad you took the time to explain .

        When I went to Gina’s wake, it was hard to see her like that. I sat there and stared, trying to put words to my thoughts and every single one of them being wrong and just not quite right. But I’m glad you could put into words what I could only and merely feel.

      • K,
        I appreciate that you keep what I have written about Gina on your toolbar. Whether or not it’s flattery, it makes me happy to know that my words mean something to you. I went to the wake as well, and completely empathize with the way that you felt. I have been in touch with Gina’s sister, and I know that she is planning a memorial service. Please let me know if you would like to attend, and I will pass along the details.

        Be well,
        The Frogge ❤

  4. Cassidy Gard Says:

    This is beautifully written. I remember you telling me about this amazing girl you had met after you did that shoot. All of the photos she took were so touching. They captured these young, vibrant kids in the night life scene. My heart aches to think of the people we grow up with that leave us all too soon. I didn’t know her all that well. Ran into her just a time or two. How special to have the polaroid photo. I know you’ll hold it dear. My thoughts and prayers to all of you that knew her so well. Much love.

    • Hello CG,

      Thank you for your lovely comment. I’m glad that you remembered that… The polaroid… Sighhh… I am holding it dear… So, so happy to have it… Hope you are well… Thank you for reading & for your comment…

      – TF ❤

  5. Beautifully written piece…I only knew Gina through the nightlife scene, not personally, but always saw her snapping away along with her vivavious spirit. Always wondered who she was at first, as she had something about her that did call the attention and a friendliness to her spirit. She was someone I came to expect and look for at certain venues…seeing her was like finding comfort. I knew I was where I should be…I was so surprised to hear of the sad news. My heart goes out to her friends and family. A memory is better than no memory at all…and it seems she left everyone with something special. 😉

  6. gina was one of my best friends and i will always love her. what you wrote couldnt have been put into words any better than that. it was simply beautiful. i love reading all the nice things people are writing about her, especially people i didnt know, and who knew her in a different light. her city friends, i mean. im her jersey friend, from highschool and beyond that. i didnt attend many of her events although she tried to drag me to alot of them because i thought, hey i can always go another time, im too busy with work. and now shes gone and i cant take that back. and im finally ok with that. i just know shes smiling down on us wishing she could take a sip of my drink or grab my hand to dance like crazy animals. she will be missed by us all.

    peace and ❤ suzy

    • Suzy,
      Thank you for reading and for your kind words. I have been in touch with Gina’s sister who is planning a memorial service for her. Please let me know if you would like to attend and I will pass along the details.

      <3,
      The Frogge

  7. it sux to feel that i’m the lastone to findout. gina was a doer, and she put me on FB was my 1st friend , made my gmail account and passwrd. i was lazy and didn’t care for it. it was probbly the best thing that happened to me bc i got reaquainted with old friends who i never thought i wld see again. god bless her, i kno i’ll nevr meet some like her again. her actions make me want to enjoy and do things in life… thank u gina
    love richir

  8. Beautiful words. I miss you so much Gina

  9. years have gone , & I still miss you Gina . every time I see your photos you inspire me on life with a tear I am holding that you no longer breath with us . every photo shot tells a story of how you enjoy every moment of your life with the people you love
    … god bless your joyful soul

Leave a Reply

