The Pinkest Sheep of Them All…

The world of fashion is ALL about making statements. As we all know by now, yesterday our beloved Alexander McQueen made one of the biggest statements of them all when he was found dead in his London apartment on the opening day of New York Fashion Week, just one week before London Fashion Week.

People who know The Frogge know that I adore McQueen (just like everybody else who is worth their salt in this town.) Yesterday morning I awoke to a text message from a good friend that read, “OMG… Alexander McQueen committed suicide.” I was shocked… and the first thought that came to my mind was, “Holy shit. The world has just lost one of it’s most creative geniuses…”

This photo was taken from "goodfornothingnow.wordpress.com"

After I cried (yes, I cried) I went on Facebook to see how others were reacting to this news… And of course, I was far from being the only devastated Frogge on the island of Manhattan.

When an artist is lost, other artists will feel the pain. No, we may not have known McQueen personally, but in some sense, we are all part of the same community. A community that is trying to make this world a more beautiful, inspiring place to live… My newsfeed was flooded with statuses from my artist friends, all attributed to McQueen…

“I don’t usually do R.I.P.’s however, Alexander McQueen was and is not only a legend but a pioneer in our culture. Truly R.I.P.” Kayvon Zand (Musician)

“I feel sick… and can’t concentrate… I can’t believe the world lost Alexander McQueen, Mr. McQueen you shall be truly missed… you are brilliant!,” Veritee Hill (Designer)

“The man who introduced me to thinking outside the box, Mr. Alexander McQueen has passed. He was a true legend, a pioneer even in our culture. You have become a legend sir. May you rest in peace,” Hunter Thompson (Stylist)

“Devastated over the death of the Great Alexander McQueen
Rest in Peace, I love you forever,” Kariem Younes (Designer)

“Alexander McQueen, the world of fashion cries for you,” Amanda Bermudez (Photographer)

“I was wishing it was just a publicity stunt for an upcoming show… but it seems true… considering they say his mother died a few days before. I can’t even deal. He was the one show I always looked forward to during all these somewhat boring fashion weeks,” Jermaine Jagger (Designer, DJ)

“Word comes of the sudden passing of Alexander McQueen. Yesterday I found myself looking at a collection of his shoes called ‘Plato’s Atlantis.’ His death reminded me of a quote from Plato that I carry in my wallet and on my facebook profile: ‘Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle,'” Steve Lewis (Designer, Nightlife Writer)

“Goodbye McQueen. Thank you for touching my life. May you rest in peace,” LadyFag (Nightlife Personality, Writer)

“Saddened and shocked about Alexander McQueen. He was so talented and imaginative. Rest in peace,” Victoria Wallace (Artist, Model)

“Each piece he put out was incredible. I will miss looking forward to his work,” Axel Kohler (Menswear Designer)

As a Frogge who owns many bags (I have been collecting from a very young age, my mother was a buyer for Saks, and I grew up in a fashion-obsessed household) the story is always the same… People just go nuts over my McQueen bags… I mean literally NUTS. Where ever I go, whether it is to a club or to the supermarket, if I am wearing one of my beloved McQueens, at least 2 or 3 people will stop me and say, “WHERE DID YOU GET THAT BAG?” His designs truly are show-stoppers… conversation pieces that are completely outrageous and classic at the same time… A combination that is almost impossible to attain.

I don’t know what will happen to his label, to the beautiful empire that he has built, but I do know that I will miss waiting for his new collections to come out… And I will miss The Pinkest Sheep of Them All… Mr. Alexander McQueen (March 16th, 1968- February 11th, 2010)

Love your (sad) friend,

The Frogge ❤

RIBBIT OF THE DAY: “Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle,” Plato. (Thank you Steve Lewis, for reminding me of this quote that I love so much.)

Leave a Reply

