Rock N’ Roll Is In Our Souls…

The Frogge loves NYC nightlife for lots & lots of reasons… but one of the main reasons is, there are so many different scenes all packed onto one relatively small island! With so many different spots that you can choose from each and every night, you’d have to be crazy to think that there is only just “one scene.” In fact, there are quite a few, starting with the hipster scene, the rock n’ roll scene, the gay scene, the model scene, the house/techno music scene, the list can go on and on, ect…

However, I think this is a really important moment in time to give specific mention to the rock n’ roll scene because lots of exciting things are happening within it… Bands that are now considered “NY local bands,” will not be considered local bands for much longer… For example, Hypernova (one of my favorite NY bands) just got signed (congrats boys!)… The Dirty Pearl’s newest single New York City Is A Drug is being playing on 101.9 WXRP, The Sex Slaves just returned home from their European tour & Wild Street (as well as The Party Death) both just returned home from touring the U.S.

So what did The Frogge do? The Frogge sat down with the one man in NYC who loves and supports the rock n’ roll scene most… Mr. Samuel Valentine

There he is... Mr. Samuel Valentine

There he is... Mr. Samuel Valentine

The Frogge: I am here with Mr. Samuel Valentine outside of the Vains of Jenna music video shoot. Hi Samuel! How’s it going?

Samuel Valentine: I’m cold!

TF: Yes, it is very cold out… which is annoying because I think someone told me it was going to be 76 degrees today, but whatever… We have more important things to talk about than the weather. Tell me a little about this video shoot that we are at… This band is called Vains of Jenna…What song are they shooting the video for?

SV: The song is called Mind Pollution… It is Vains of Jenna’s new single!

TF: How did you get involved with this video shoot…

SV: I helped the director with the casting and brought over most of the people. I figured that I’d bring all my people here to be a part of the video and it would be a great way to promote the show that is coming up this Tuesday.

TF: Well you did a good job… The people look hot!

SV: Really hot! Especially the girls…

TF: Rarrr! I know… there are like 5 guys here… they are having a field day in there! So, tell me a little bit about yourself… Do you consider yourself a host? A promoter? A band booker?

SV: Everything… It’s all in one… anything that I can do that involves music and great people…

TF: How did you originally get involved with nightlife and the NYC rock n’ roll scene?

SV: When I first moved to New York, I had a really crappy job! But I started going out to a bunch of parties and getting involved in the NY scene… One day, I went to an after hours party and when I left, I got mugged on the street. The next day, I went back to the same party and showed up all f**ked up! The guy that worked there asked me what happened… He felt really bad, because he knew that I had been there the night before… So we started talking, and I told him about my crappy job… So he asked me if I wanted to help him out promoting his party to make some extra cash… So I did it, and it started to catch on… I got good at it… And now 5 years later, I am still doing it…

TF: What are some of the places that you have promoted for?

SV: Lots of places! I started with an after hours party at a place called Remix… but I have done Snitch, Marquee, Greenhouse, Cain, Hudson Terrace, The Gates, Pop, Highline Ballroom, The Studio at Webster Hall… too many to mention, pretty much every club in town…

TF: Now, you are still promoting clubs, but you also are booking bands and putting together your own rock shows, which is awesome! Do you think your involvement with the club scene helped get you to where you are now?

SV: Oh yeah, definitely. When I was working at Snitch, they had bands performing live almost every night… I realized that I could help out some of my friends by getting them shows there… When I moved to the States, I wanted to be in a band myself, but it didn’t happen for various reasons… But I knew I wanted to help bands out, so I started booking shows of bands that I wanted to see. Nobody was putting on the shows that I wanted, so basically I started doing it for myself. If there is a band that I want to see play live, I book them a show… I end up booking my dream shows that nobody else is doing…

TF: We will talk about Big City Rebels 2 in a second, because that coming up this Tuesday, but first I want to talk about Big City Rebels 1 because that was the gateway to BCR2… Who played at BCR1?

SV: The Sex Slaves, Wildstreet, Hypernova, BM Linx, and The Party Death…

TF: That’s a hot line up… I love Hypernova… (but that’s old news… everybody knows that The Frogge loves Hypernova.) When you book a band, what do you look for?

SV: First of all talent… kids who are young, who have style, who put on a great live show… I don’t like booking some guy who only plays in jeans and a t-shirt, because it’s boring. I think music is attached to fashion… they go hand in hand…

TF: Well, you must have done something right because BCR1 had a great turnout, I was there myself… I thought that every band did a great job… especially BM Linx and The Sex Slaves… They both played great sets…

SV: Yeah, it was awesome. About 250 people showed up and we were also broadcasting live on a website called NYCliverock.com. Over 400 people logged in to watch the show live from all around the world… 13 different countries tuned in…

TF: So due to the success of Big City Rebels 1, BCR2 is coming up this Tuesday! Are you excited?

SV: Yup, yup!

TF: Who is playing this time around?

SV: Vains of Jenna, Wild Street, Dirty Penny and Natasha Komis.

TF: Since Vains of Jenna is headlining the show; let’s talk about them first… How did you first discover them?

Vains of Jenna

Vains of Jenna

SV: I first listened to them when I was living in Puerto Rico, their band started in Sweden… I really liked them, and I became a fan of their music. It was funny because after Big City Rebels 1, their manager actually contacted the singer [Eric Jayk] from Wild Street to do a show with them. The next morning they called me and asked me to put it together and I was like, “Are you serious?!” I had to do a double take. I was super excited about that.

TF: This band is under Bam Margera’s record label, Filthy Note Records, correct?

SV: Yup… They are one of the first bands that Bam signed…

TF: Nice. I actually Wikied them and found out some interesting info… like how Gilby Clarke (former Guns N’ Roses guitarist) produced their demo, they also have appeared in a bunch of big magazines like Spin, Blender, and Hustler… So they are doing big things. It’s rad that they are going to play your show! Tell me about the other bands that are playing BCR2… I know that Wild Street is one of your favorite bands in New York…

WildStreet

Wild Street

SV: When I first moved to New York, Wild Street was the only band that I knew that was playing 80’s influenced metal… Since that’s the kind of music that I really, really like, I fell in love with them the first moment I saw them…

TF: Aww… that’s kind of sweet…

SV: I have been booking them now for about three years, and I really believe in them. I think they are going to make it…

TF: Okay, next up… Dirty Penny… Who are they?

SV: Dirty Penny is a band from Santa Cruz, California… I discovered them through MySpace… They also are an 80’s influenced band, but with a modern twist. They aren’t cheesy, they are just bad-ass. They are sleazy, 80’s, rock n’ roll, big hair, tight pants kind of guys… they play a great live show. High fuel rock n’ roll! They are starting a new movement that is influenced by the 80’s but coming back with a new modern twist for our generation. It’s very exciting to see this new movement happening again.

The Boys of Dirty Penny

The Boys of Dirty Penny

TF: Last up, we have Natasha Komis… the only lady in the line up!

SV: I met her hanging around at clubs, and her band is more like electro-rock, but they still have a little of the 80’s influence as well. I think they are one of the better bands here in NY. Their live show is insane… they have a great sound, a great look… they are exciting. She is also known for the big billboard campaigns that she has done for American Apparel and for the MTV reality show Paris Hilton BFF.

Natasha Komis for American Apparel

Natasha Komis for American Apparel

TF: Yeah, I have seen those America Apparel ads… I like ’em… BCR1 was at The Studio at Webster Hall… but now BCR2 is at Santos Party House (96 Lafayette Street between Walker and White.) May I ask why you decided to switch up the venue?

SV: It really just came down to space. Vains of Jenna is a big band, and we needed a place to have the show that had a larger capacity. The Studio at Webster Hall would have been too small. Plus, Wild Street had already played that venue, so I wanted to switch it up. Hopefully the next BCR will be at an even bigger venue.

TF: So tell the people when and where they can catch Big City Rebels 2!

SV: This Tuesday October 27th at Santos Party House, doors open at 7 pm! 10 bucks at the door… You can also buy tickets in advance on ticketweb.com…

Big City Rebels 2! This Tuesday 10/27!

Big City Rebels 2! This Tuesday 10/27! 7 pm!

TF: I will see you there…

SV: Sounds good! Get your party pants on!

TF: Oh, they are already on!

~          ~          ~          ~          ~

So come out and support some NYC local bands that won’t be local bands for much longer and someday very soon when these kids will be selling out shows at Madison Square Garden, you will be able to say that you knew them way back when…

RIBBIT OF THE DAY: This is random and doesn’t have very much to do with this post but, I just want to make a point that jealousy will get you nowhere in this life. Neither will talking crap about other people. Of course this is obvious, but I feel that sometimes we need to be reminded of these kinds of things. Always remember, you catch more flies with honey than with vinegar, so go out there and be the sweet piece of sugar that you are.

Love your friend,

The Frogge ❤

PS- I know that a ton of people are reading THE FROGGE! (WordPress allows you to check your stats… Pretty cool, huh?) So I just wanted to say THANK YOU for your support! It really means a lot! Also… don’t be shy to leave your comments! Tell me what you liked, what you didn’t, what you want more of, & if there is anything that you think I should write about, ect… I’d love to hear from you, you, and yes, YOU!

Leave a Reply

