Bringing the A-Game…

Of course The Frogge was out on the town last night as there was a lot to do! The Frogge loves Monday nights in New York City. Contrary to what you may think, Monday really is the best night to go out for a few reasons… 1. There are no weekend warriors (people who wait all week to party and only come out on Fridays and Saturdays, drink way too much, can’t handle themselves, act really annoying, and then vomit on your new shoes.) 2. There is a minimal amount of B&T (this means Bridge & Tunnel… and it DOES NOT literally mean people who live in Brooklyn, Long Island, New Jersey, ect (because The Frogge would never judge anybody based on where they live… B&T is more of an attitude… think, The Real Housewives of New Jersey… no one wants to party with that… I mean, can you imagine drinking a mojito next to those tacky women who tawwwk like thisssss andddd onlyyy tawwwwwk about their [fake] “boooooobbies.” Enough said.) And 3. Monday night is industry night… its the night when people who know how to go out, go out. Its the night when all the artists are out… which brings a creative twist to the party… and creativity always equals fun.

The Frogge started off her night with an accomplice at High Bar. It was a beautiful night in NYC and there was no better place to be other than a breathtaking rooftop drinking mojitos and frozen passion fruit cocktails.

High Bar

High Bar

But The Frogge could not stay and lounge around High Bar for long because she had to run downtown to Greenhouse to meet new Indie band on the scene, The Click Clack Boom.  The Frogge had never seen The Click Clack Boom play live before so she wasn’t quite sure what to expect, but they were great. The whole band brought the crazy energy and super cool vibes into the room as soon as they started their performance. Of course, the interview is below. 

The Click Clack Boom at South by Southwest

The Click Clack Boom at South by Southwest

The Frogge: I am outside of Greenhouse sitting in the middle of the sidewalk with The Click Clack Boom. And you are?

Nathaniel Hoho (lead vocals & guitar): Nathaniel…

The Frogge: And you?

Will Markley (guitar, bass, keys): Will!

The Frogge: Tell the people a little bit about The Click Clack Boom.

Nathaniel: The Click Clack Boom is a five-piece Indie rock band based out of Central, Pennsylvania. Some of the members have been living in NY since September. Right now we are recording our national debut album due for national release in the next couple of months… and we just played at Greenhouse and had a really great time thanks to Samuel Valentine.

The Frogge: Did Samuel Valentine book you?

Nathaniel: Yes.

The Frogge: While you were singing, I loved it when you jumped off the stage and plowed through the crowd and went over to Samuel to hug him. I think it shows that you are a very humble person and that you have a lot of humility. The Frogge appreciates humility in artists.

Nathaniel: Without the promoters to bring us here, we would be out of business. It’s nice that somebody like Samuel took the time to find us.

The Frogge: How did he find you?

Nathaniel: We used to have a 6th member of The Click Clack Boom, who is no longer with us.

The Frogge: Are they dead?

Nathaniel: What? No!

The Frogge: That’s how you made it sound, you said, “They are no longer with us!” What am I supposed to think that means?

Nathaniel: Let me rephrase, they are no longer in the band.

The Frogge: Ohhh… I know who it is… it’s the girl that is in the picture on your myspace page, correct?

Nathaniel: Yea, that’s her…

The Frogge: Why did she leave the band?

Nathaniel: She moved on to other endeavors with her solo project and it was hard for her to travel with us because she is in fashion school… so there were just a lot of conflicts…

The Frogge: That is not what I heard… I know the truth! Don’t lie to The Frogge… The Frogge knows all…

Will: I dropped the bomb earlier! I dropped the bomb!

Nathaniel: F**K!

The Frogge: Will is Gossip Girl over here! He told me everything! Will, can you just say, XOXO Gossip Girl?

Will: I can’t say that… I apologize… I can’t say that…

The Frogge: We need to put the truth in this interview because the truth is what’s cool… its what people are interested in. I mean, we can sit here and pretend we’re all cupcakes… and be all frosted… but that’s not real… that’s not what people are interested in… do you really think my readers care if that girl went to fashion school? No! They don’t…

Nathaniel: No comment.

The Frogge: Clearly, Nathanial Hoho is a very nice gentleman. But the truth is, that girl and Nathanial used to be in a relationship and she cheated on him… but you know what? It’s her loss… it really is.

Nathaniel: Well thank you.

The Frogge: You’re welcome. Moving along… tell me about the array of instruments you guys use…

Will: Well, everybody in the band plays everybody else’s instrument…

The Frogge: Wait! Time out! That’s amazing… you all play the guitar, bass, keyboard, drums, and sing?!

Nathaniel: Definitley…

The Frogge: Wow…

Will: We also all have solo songs that we have written…

The Frogge: What a talented bunch…

Will: Well, thank you… so yeah… we all write music for the different instruments… like for example, the bass player Newman (Billy Newman) wrote some of the guitar lines…

The Frogge: I liked his fedora… very stylish…

Will: It was given to him compliments of Andy Hilfiger.

The Frogge: Oh, funny that you bring him up Andy Hilfiger because I actually saw Michael Hilfiger (he goes by Michael H) sing here not too long ago with Sami Yaffa (of The New York Dolls & Hanoi Rocks,) Earl Slick (of David Bowie,) and Steve Conte (of The New York Dolls.) It was amazing…

Will: Michael H is a great guy… and Andy has helped us out a lot.

The Frogge: Who is Andy?

Will: Tommy’s brother…

The Frogge: So many darn Hilfigers! Okay… Nathaniel, when I was watching you sing, you reminded me of Jason Lee’s character Jeff in Almost Famous… he was the singer of the band Stillwater… and at one part in the movie he says, “You know what I do. I connect. I find the one guy in the room that is not getting off, and I make him get off.” Watching you run through the audience and put your arm around people… you have such a great energy… I thought to myself, “Yeah, he is finding the one guy who is not getting off, and making him get off!”

Nathaniel: That’s a nice compliment… I have fun with this… I love playing music… and I feel like other people should have fun listening to music. I try to include everybody into the show. I mean… if we are playing by ourselves…

The Frogge: That is called a rehearsal!

Nathaniel: Right, so when the audience is there, they need to be a part of it.

The Frogge: I have to say, you are very shy off stage… especially compared to how you are on stage… would you consider yourself a shy person?

Nathaniel: No… (We all laugh at this, because it is a blatant lie!) I am just Nathaniel…

The Frogge: Its ironic but some of the best performers are incredibly shy off stage… Its like they use the stage… and the bedroom… to unleash their alter ego out into the world…

Will: There ya go! Nathaniel… she is reading your mind!

The Frogge: Alright, moving along, I wanted to ask your tambourine player (Jeremy Mertz) some questions, but he isn’t here… can you answer for him?

Nathaniel: We can do our best.

The Frogge: The tambourine is probably one of the most underrated instruments in the whole world…

Will: But he rocks that shit! He rocks it!

The Frogge: That’s what I was going to say! He does… 

Nathaniel: The tambourine is actually my favorite instrument… when I listen to records, it is the first thing I listen for… it’s my favorite thing to hear… and we love Jeremy, he brings the energy… and additional percussion to The Click Clack Boom.

The Frogge: I think you need to also get him a triangle…

Nathaniel & Will: I agree!

The Frogge: And… a cowbell! Because The Click Clack Boom has a fivvver and the only prescription is more cowbell!

Nathaniel: All day. Every day.

The Frogge: Tell me about your song that goes… OoOoOoOoOhhhh AaAaAaAahhhh… What is that… its so catchy… is it your single?

Will: We nicknamed it The Chant Song… it has the Hey Jude affect (Na na, nah nah nah nah)…

Nathaniel: It’s the single…

Will: Can I interview you?

The Frogge: Sure…

Will: What did you think of The Click Clack Boom?

The Frogge: I was very pleasantly surprised. I hadn’t see you guys play live before, so I really didn’t know what to expect… but I thought you brought it, you played a great show, and you guys have a great chemistry… you seem like you all are friends… that is really important to me, I always look for that. If I don’t see a great chemistry in between the band members, I don’t like that. For example, I saw Weezer play like two years ago… and they were good of course, but they didn’t seem connected with each other… they didn’t seem happy to share the stage with each other… it was sad to watch, it changed my opinion of them a lot…

Will: I love Weezer…

The Frogge: I love them too, I have been listening to them since I was eight years old… I have The Blue Album on tape for god’s sake… but they were not feeling each other… they are the kind of band that its better to listen to them on your Ipod… not see them live…

Nathaniel: It’s hard to work closely with really creative weirdos sometimes…

The Frogge: So is that what you guys are, creative weirdos?

Nathaniel: We all have our strange quirks…

The Frogge: Oooh, like what? Tell me…

Will: Well, lets see… Newman…

The Frogge: Newman, the bass player with the fedora…

Will: Yes, he is a really anti-social drinker… Grant (Grant Wilson) the drummer is obsessive compulsive… he is obsessed with perfection… and Jeremy he is just quirky in a lot of ways, we can’t really classify him into one category… and Nathanial has a really strange tendency to get himself into really awkward situations at any given moment…

The Frogge: Oh wow… look who is here! The other members of The Click Clack Boom! Get the F over here… lets expand this circle of love… Jeremy… I want you to talk about your tambourine playing, because it really interests me!

Jeremy Mertz (auxiliary percussion aka the tambourine, bass, keys): I shake it, and I hit it, and then I choke it, and then I suck it…

The Frogge: What does ‘choking a tambourine mean?”

Jeremy: It means you wrap your hands around it’s throat… because a tambourine has a throat.

The Frogge: Does it really? Or are you being fresh?

Jeremy: What do you think?

The Frogge: Well, I think you are lying, because the tambourine is shaped like a circle, so I don’t know which part would be considered the throat… but then again, I am not super familiar with tambourines… I mean, now that I think about it, I have seen tambourines that have one flat side…

Jeremy: I milk the funk out of it.

The Frogge: Wait… who are we missing? Everyone is here except for… Grant… where is he? Grant get over here!

Grant Wilson (drums): I need to take my pants off…

The Frogge: Well, I took my shoes off so, whatever makes you happy… So you are Grant… How did you feel about being separated from the rest of the band tonight while you were playing? (The stage at Greenhouse was too small to fit the drum kit along with all the other instruments, so Grant and the drum kit were on the upper stage while the rest of the band was on the lower stage.)

Grant: Was I separated from them? I don’t know, I play the drums with my eyes closed…

The Frogge: How did you not realize you were on a different stage? That’s kind of cause for concern…

Grant: I couldn’t see! And when I do open my eyes, I can’t see anyway because of all my damn hair!

The Frogge: Who writes the lyrics and who writes the music?

Jeremy: I write EVERYTHING!

The Frogge: You do? (everybody laughs) Are you lying?

Grant: Nathanial always comes up with the lyrics.

Nathaniel: True.

The Frogge: Who writes the music?

Grant: We all do, a lot of times Nathanial will come to us with a chord progression to a song, and then we will all come up with it together. It’s definitely a group effort.

The Frogge: That’s nice… which song means the most to you guys? I don’t mean your most popular song… I mean which song do you connect with the most on a personal level?

Will: Ghosts, for me personally…

Billy: I personally like The Negative…

Nathaniel: I like Knots, or Watch Your Eyes… that will be on the new album…

The Frogge: And what’s yours?

Grant: Narcism by Ghost Music…

The Frogge: What? Who is Ghost Music?

All: It’s his side project!

The Frogge: Excuse me, this is not the time to promote your other band, okay? This interview is about The Click Clack Boom! Geez!

Grant: If you were in Denmark and you were to wear a picture of me on your shirt, people would bow to you… its crazy over there in Denmark.

The Frogge: Is this fact or fiction?

Grant: You guys tell her… 

All: No, he really is huge in Denmark…

The Frogge: Interesting… my grandmother tells me about the Lego Land in Denmark everyday, she is obsessed.

Jeremy: I love Legos. I have a lot of them.

The Frogge: So is there a song you wish you never wrote?

Will: No comment.

Billy: I would say Howling.

The Frogge: Why?

Billy: I guess I am just sick of playing it that’s all…

The Frogge: Was that your old single, before The Chant Song?

Billy: No…

Will: A lot of times its just difficult to play a song over and over again. Its not that we dislike any of the songs, but when you play a song 200, 400, 6,000 times… its like, well lets move on and play something new, interesting, and fresh.

The Frogge: Nathaniel, what’s it like for you when you are walking through the crowd singing?

Nathaniel: It’s nice to meet a lot of new people at once.

The Frogge: You guys played for a packed house tonight…

Grant: It was a great show…

Nathaniel: Its always fun to play for a packed house…

The Frogge: So tell the people when you are playing next!

Nathaniel: Tomorrow night actually… we are playing a free show! At Piano’s… 7:45… be there! 

The Frogge: And where can people check you out?

Nathaniel: ClickClackBoom.com

Nathaniel Hoho singing his little heart out at Greenhouse

Nathaniel Hoho singing his little heart out at Greenhouse

The Frogge would write more but she is seriously exhausted and can not look at the computer screen for another second, it took her pretty much all day to transcribe the interview. The Frogge is in serious need of an intern. 

RIBBIT OF THE DAY: Transcribing interviews is the devil. But check out ClickClackBoom… they know how to bring their A-Game.

Leave a Reply

