Last Night… I Got Lucky…

Last night I got lucky. How ironic that the same exact day I decided to start a nightlife/fashion/music blog I got invited to an event that 1. was at night (clearly) 2. had a fashion show 3. had live musical performances. Well, the stars must have been aligned for The Frogge because that was exciting. This event was held at Pop (58th between 5th and Madison) and all the usual suspects were there looking fierceee. 

I have been to the uptown Pop before as a lot of my friends host tables there, that being said, when I arrived I wasn’t really sure what to expect. But, I knew one thing, I had to pee, so I immediately did the trek up the 2 long flights of stairs and ventured towards the bathroom. On my way up I got a sneak peak at the models getting ready for the show as well as the bands tuning their instruments. Kira Sherrine, a former FIT grad was the designer showing her line. The models looked great in her duds which had a very natural, earthy feel. Unfortunately, I do not have any pics of the fashion show  😦   but I did find this adorable pic of sleepwear that she designed…

Kira Sherrine

(Kira… I want those PJ’s girl… really, really cute.) But what was really great about this event was artist Daren Chambers was there, paintbrush in hand, creating lovely works of art in front of our faces. You can check his work out on jazzformulanyc.com. *For those of you who like jazz, you will especially appreciate this… I think they are lovely, especially this one…

"Untitled"

"Untitled"

After some veggie burgers at Pop (which are really yummy, I definitely recommend them) it was off to Stanton Social. It was the first time I had been there and I was pleasantly surprised. We sat down for dinner with our gracious host Mr. Dave Delzio when one of my darling friends who will remain nameless decided to fling a tiny piece of lettuce at another man at the table. Lets just say, the other man was not pleased and responded by throwing an entire glass of whiskey on my nameless friend, however most of the whiskey ended up on me and my favorite jumper. I said, “Excuse me, are you aware that you just poured your entire drink on me and now I am soaking wet?” and this man said, “Don’t be too upset, that whiskey was better than Johnny Walker Blue Label.” All I have to say is… what an idiot. Because of him I smelt like whiskey for the rest of the night, although I did have some girl ask me “what perfume I was wearing” after the incident. Interesting… maybe her mother was an alcoholic and my smell reminded her of her childhood? 

After the whiskey was wiped up, dinner at Stanton was served… salad with some kind of shredded cheese and corn, fish tacos, raviolis, meatballs… all which looked and smelled really yummy but I can’t tell you from personal experience as nothing was vegan. Marty E from The Dirty Pearls moseyed in and we talked about the release party for their new singled called “New York City Is A Drug,” a really great, catchy tune that is being picked up by Sirius XM Radio as soon as The Pearls release it into the world. The release party will be on Thursday July 23rd at Santos Party House (tickets are available at ticketweb.com for $10.) The show starts at 8 pm, so don’t be late! We were also hanging with singer Bianca Linta who just recently recorded a remake of LMFAO’s “I’m In Miami Bitch.” Her remake is called “I’m In NYC Bitch” and thank god, because who really gives a shit about being in Miami anyway? Miami… sucks. Her version of the song is getting some play at The Box, which I would say is a nice steppingstone considering this chick only moved here from Romania 4 short years ago. I will put up the link to the song later for all of you New Yorkers to enjoy. 

Stanton Social’s lounge upstairs is beautiful as well and oh-so-chic, but as it was an amazing night (weather wise) we decided to head over to Above Allen at the Thompson Hotel (Not to be confused with the Thompson Hotel that is in SoHo… people seem to be making that mistake) to enjoy the rooftop. All I have to say is, I’m down with any place that is playing The Smiths as I walk in the door, and I did not stop them, even though I knew I heard that song before  🙂   The views from Above Allen are really intoxicating, especially on a night that was as clear as last night. I would have stayed there for the rest of the night gazing wistfully at The Chrysler Building, but I promised my dear friend Samuel Valentine that I would make an appearance at Greenhouse for the weekly Monday night Rock N’ Roll party. 

I pranced through the doors of Greenhouse at probably 2:30 am, and it was still packed. Samuel Valentine and Scott Hockins must know how to throw a party to keep people out and about at all hours of the night, especially being that it was a Monday. I stayed for a bit and then contemplated going to Le Royale for after hours, but by that point I was exhausted and decided it was time to go home… I told my disappointed friend PDM that I had to go because I had stuff to do in the morning, when he replied with…

THE RIBBIT OF THE DAY: “F*CK IT… AND FOR THAT MATTER…  F*CK EVERYONE.” THANK YOU PDM FOR YOUR WISE WORDS, I WILL DEFINITELY TAKE THEM INTO CONSIDERATION.

That said, you stay classy New York City.

Love your friend,

                            The Frogge ❤

2 Responses to “Last Night… I Got Lucky…”

  1. I think you did a wonderful job on your website iam very impress about your work

Leave a Reply

